Diamonds and the 4 C’s

Diamond Characteristics

Diamond rating is a system used to evaluate the quality of a diamond based on its characteristics, such as its cut, colour, clarity, and carat weight. These characteristics are commonly referred to as the “Four Cs” of diamonds.

The diamond rating system was established by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA), which is a non-profit organization that sets the standards for diamond grading. The GIA assigns a rating to each of the Four Cs, which helps to determine the overall quality and value of a diamond.

Various characteristics of diamonds are graded and categorised by the diamond industry. First, learn about the “four C’s” to understand diamonds. The four characteristics that are the most important in determining a diamond’s value.


This the most important and challenging of the four Cs to understand. The brilliance of a diamond depends heavily on its cut. The cut of a diamond refers to how well it has been cut and polished. A well-cut diamond will reflect light well and give off a brilliant sparkle.


The colour of a diamond is graded on a scale from D (colourless) to Z (yellow or brown). The less colour a diamond has, the more valuable it is. Colourless diamonds are the most desirable since they allow the most refraction of light (sparkle). Off-white diamonds absorb light, inhibiting brilliance.


Most diamonds contain inner flaws, or inclusions, that occur during the formation process. The visibility, number and size of these inclusions determine the clarity of a diamond. Clear diamonds create more brilliance and thus are more highly desirable and sought after. A diamond with fewer inclusions and blemishes will be more valuable.

Carat Weight

The carat weight of a diamond is a measure of its weight. The larger the diamond, the more valuable it is.

Each of the above factors is taken into consideration when a diamond is rated, and the final rating is given on a scale from poor to excellent. The overall quality of the diamond is then reflected in its price, with higher-rated diamonds typically being more expensive. These criteria are those used by jewellers when grading diamonds, and they’re the ones you’ll need to understand to buy the right diamond for you.

The “5th C” – Certificate

The diamond certificate, sometimes called a grading report, is a complete evaluation of your diamond performed by a qualified professional with the help of special gemmological instruments. Each stone bears its own recognisable, individual characteristics listed on the certificate.

image of GIO diamond certificates

Table of Contents

No Fees

Highest Prices paid for your valuables

No Premiums